Did you ever think of managing your social media profile after your death? If you consider that it is impossible, then you would be surprised to know that Facebook makes it happen for you!
Facebook gives a way to celebrate life, especially the social life. Therefore, the social media giant ensures that it does not ignore an inevitable part of life, i.e. Death.
There are two ways Facebook enables you to manage social life after death: One is through the Memorialized FB accounts and another is through Facebook Legacy Contact. We will go in steps and understand how these features in your network works and could help to pertain a social life after death.
What happens to Facebook Account When Someone Dies?
However, before any changes can be made, Facebook calls for a proof that the user has died. To report, a close friend or a family member has to fill in a form, giving information about the deceased and a scanned copy death certificate that can be reviewed by the team Facebook for any action. The friends or family of the deceased are provided with four options:
- Make a request to memorialized the Facebook account
- Close Facebook Account after death Permanently
- Make a special request to the Team Facebook
- Ask them a question
NOTE: For special requests and question, there is space available at the end of form where one can write in detail.
What is Memorialized Account on Facebook?
A memorialized account is a way to remember or celebrate your loved ones after their death. This account can be managed by the close friends or the family member of the Facebook account user who has passed away, by sharing their memories. To convert a normal FB account into a memorialized account, you have two options:
- Fill in the “Memorialization Request” form
- Fill in the “Special Request for Deceased Persons’ Account” form
Once FB account is marked as memorialized, the word “Remembering” would be added after the name of the original profile holder. Along with this, following things can be done to manage a dead person’ account:
- The content of the deceased, be it the posts, pictures, videos etc. will be visible to the audience with whom it is shared.
- No has will be granted permission to login to the account.
- User profiles that ae memorialized will not be visible in public spaces like in friends’ suggestion, birthday alerts etc.
- If a memorialized account has a legacy contact assigned already, it cannot be changed.
- If the deceased was the admin of any Facebook page, it will be removed once a valid request is received.
What is a Legacy Contact and How to Add One?
A legacy contact is someone (from close friends or the family on Facebook) who would manage your profile after your account is being memorialized. You get the option to define a legacy contact for your FB profile when you are alive and once the profile is memorialized (with proof and review by Facebook team), the legacy contact can take on the hold and perform following tasks to keep you alive in the social life:
- Update your profile picture and cover picture (as a part of sharing your memories)
- Pin a post to your profile timeline (Last message that you wish to share)
- Respond to new friends’ requests
To add legacy contact, go to “Settings”>>”Security”>>”Legacy Contact” box and click “Edit”.
Choose a Legacy Contact and then click on the “Add” button. By doing this, a message will be send to the selected contact but he/she will be notified to for action only after the account is memorialized.
In addition to managing the account, the legacy contact will also be permitted to download a copy of your posts, photos, videos, and related info. However, this will exclude private info like messages. You can enable the “Data Archive Permission” to give this right to the legacy contact.
However, if you do not want Facebook account after death, you can enable the check box for “Account Deletion” option.
To get annual reminder about legacy contact (in case you wish to remove to change it), enable the option “Legacy Contact Annual Reminder”.
Once done with this, click on the “Close” button. After this, you can stay carefree about managing or deleting your Facebook account, if in any unfortunate scenario you cannot continue to add new things to your social life.